Mooing on a Monday

Happy Monday y’all, it’s Victoria here. On behalf of Buster and myself I’d like to proudly announce we are finally getting used to our worlds being shook up; I’m sure you’ve been hearing us bawl the past few days. Last week, we were weaned off of our mama’s to join Adora and Lana on the show calf side of the barn. We were separated off and led across the hallway to explore the other side of the barn. Things sure are different on the other side of the hallway but definitely in a good way. I am excited for this big step in my journey of being a production female along with Adora and Lana. I also know that Buster is enthused to reach industry goals of being a high quality steer.

Weaning time means joining the ‘big kids’ where the fans blow and there’s plenty of lovings. Weaning is one of the first steps towards production of any animal. Buster and I have reached this point in our lives that we are old enough to become successfully productive without the assistance from our mothers, Missie and Ally. We’ve been used to the pasture and nursing on our mothers while also getting some feed in the creep feeder but now our owners think we’re ready for bigger and better things. Let me tell you, their thoughts were right! Every morning we are greeted by the fan turning on at 6 in the morning and the sound of the running feed auger signaling its eating time. What happens next is my favorite part- Sierra gives Adora, Lana, and I some loving while Chayton loves on Buster. We munch away at our high fiber, high protein diets two times a day. These rations will aid Adora, Lana, and I to be high quality show heifer and cow prospects while also helping Buster produce into a high quality steer that will be raised to be harvested for consumers to enjoy. Weaning is essential for beef production and is necessary for calves like myself to grow on our own and become successful beef animals for production for reproduction and also for consumption.

Sierra keeps telling me I’m working my way to be a high performing female for the herd and we will start show training very soon. I am excited to be like Grace, Tinkerbelle, Harmony, and Mira and get baths every day as well as getting my hair brushed! They all have gotten to visit different places in the country and shhhh next year Sierra says she has plans for Adora, Lana, and I to head to Nebraska next year for the big National Show! I am ready to get the halter on and start learning the ropes of what show heifer life is like! I can’t wait to compete at the local, state, and national level as a purebred Angus heifer and bred and owned heifer for Sierra. I think I hear Sierra mixing up evening feed! I’ll catch you all later and don’t forget Roxy is here to answer your beef cattle questions! Stay tuned for more tales to come from us in the barnyard!
Until next time,

Victoria 

Leave a comment