New Queen, Same Dream

Hey there,

I’m sure you all have heard the chatter that there’s a new diva in Grace’s show halter so I thought I’d go ahead and introduce myself, properly. My name is Queenie and I come from the IL/IN line from the same farm Grace came from. Now I know many people love Grace so I am trying to fill these big shoes she has left for me. 

 A little over 2 weeks ago, Sierra and I began the 2016 show season at the Gibson County Preview Show in Princeton, IN. Everything went smoothly and we even brought home a class win and Top 5 in Showmanship!  

 I wasn’t too sure how I felt about this whole becoming a show heifer thing, but I tell you it sure is fun living the dream. I get a ton of attention and am always guaranteed to be spoiled; I can’t wait to see how much attention I get by the end of the show season!

For my first show, it was hard to understand all the preparation that needed to be done but I was on my best behavior especially for not being done showing until about 11pm!

There’s a lot of preparation and people that went into making my first show a success. On behalf of Sierra and myself, I want to thank everyone for all of their help.

Thank you to Sierra’s family and friends.

Thank you to her parents supporting her out of the country and thank you to her best friend and twin, Kelsey, for being copilot and traveling the country to go show some cows. 

 Thank you to our show family.

A special thank you goes out to the people who put together this crazy show family that Sierra belongs to. Being able to watch my showman laugh and live out her dream is one of the best things I am able to witness

   

 Thank you to the crew.

That show family also doubles as the Four Corners Farms crew that helps Sierra make me the best I can be. They have taught Sierra many lessons of the cattle industry and I don’t think there’s any better people to stand on the sidelines encouraging us every step of the way. With that being said there’s many little things I’d like to thank this crew for:

  • Thank you for pep talks
  • Thank you for high fives
  • Thank you for smiles
  • Thank you for encouraging words and confidence boosters
  • Thank you for making sure Sierra doesn’t freeze 
  • Thank you for making me look 110% 

And most importantly:

  • Thank you for being the most supportive people on the sidelines at 11pm after a long day doing some cattle showing. A win isn’t a win if the best crew isn’t there waiting for you at the finish line

And of course,

Thank you to our guardian angel.

Thank you for blessing the chutes, the glue, the combs, the clippers and the hands that were used to make me look top notch and the hands that were used to lead me through the ring. Thank you for helping Sierra and I work together as a team and show our hearts out. We know you would’ve been right there at the gate waiting with a high five and a smile. Miss you, cowboy; thank you for taking care of us! 

 The year has just begun; stay tuned for more tales of the barn!

New to the ring,

Queenieđź‘‘

Leave a comment