Back At It

Boy oh boy have I missed the show ring and all of you readers out there! It’s been a hectic past few months so the blog posts were lacking for a period of time;however, just like the show season my writing is back and better than ever.

After spending weeks upon weeks getting groomed and practicing our showmanship, Lana, Victoria, Adora, and I all traveled to Bloomington, Illinois for the Central Illinois Angus Preview Show and Illinois Junior Angus Field Day for two competitive days of showing. I believe Illinois truly has the toughest state Angus show around. With there being more than 180 head shown, Victoria and I were honored to be able to stand out in our respective divisions to compete for a championship title. Even though we did not receive one of these titles, Sierra and I still battled our way to the 3rd place spot in the Senior Showmanship Division of kids that are not quite ready to compete to represent Illinois at the National Junior Angus Show. I’m proud of my showman and know she will be ready to compete for one of those spots in the next couple of years.


Although Sierra’s foot is slightly injured she still stayed dedicated and worked as hard as she could to make us look our best as well as managing her Illinois Angus Queen duties. I know she is as excited as we are to be beginning the 2016 summer show season! 


A major thank you goes out to the FCF crew for their assistance in getting me ready and making sure I was in tip-top shape to compete in this event. I am excited to get back on the road again and visit the state of Kentucky and compete at the All-American Angus Breeder’s Futurity. I have no doubt that this show won’t disappoint and that I will have a fun-filled journey with my old bunk mates. I promise to document my adventures and maybe some day I’ll let the other heifers have the spotlight to share some stories, but until then- stay tuned and be on the lookout for what is happening next!


Goin’ Showin’,

Queenie

 

Leave a comment